Michigan area users?

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

dham81793

Michigan area users?

Post by dham81793 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:06 pm

I am new to the Native Tree Society, and am just wondering if anyone is residing in the lower peninsula of Michigan? I have been looking for someone to collaborate with on hikes, and tree measuring expeditions. I am eager to begin researching, mapping, and finding the ratios of "big" to "small" trees in a region. Next year, I will begin studying biology at the University of Michigan and I will begin research there as well. After that I plan to move to the north coast of Cali where I can study the redwoods more intensely. Any help on measuring trees with accuracy would be much appreciated! I am looking into buying a Nikon ProStaff 440 and a Suunto clinometer, any suggestions other than that?

If anyone would like to help out I would be very greatful!

Doug Ham III
Doug Ham III

RyanLeClair

Re: Michigan area users?

Post by RyanLeClair » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:02 pm

Welcome to NTS! NTS member Doug Bidlack grew up in the lower peninsula of Michigan...but he lives in Massachusetts now...anyways, maybe he can tell you of some good locations.

PAwildernessadvocate

Post by PAwildernessadvocate » Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:39 pm

Have any NTS members ever gone up and measured the old-growth white pine trees at Hartwick Pines State Park (northern lower peninsula)?
"There is no better way to save biodiversity than by preserving habitat, and no better habitat, species for species, than wilderness." --Edward O. Wilson

dham81793

Re: pawildernessadvocate

Post by dham81793 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:03 pm

That will actually be my first stop once I get my rangefinder! I will be sure to post measurements and pictures ASAP!
Doug Ham III

PAwildernessadvocate

Post by PAwildernessadvocate » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:19 pm