Daniel Boone NF, McCreary County, KY

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

#1)  Daniel Boone NF, McCreary County, KY

Postby Jim Scheff » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:47 pm

Hello all. I'd love to say more for my first post with you ENTS, but I'm short on time so am keeping it brief.

Brief bio: I'm a grad student at Eastern Kentucky University (former student of ENTS regular Neil Pederson), doing my research on the redevelopment of old growth structural characteristics in older second growth hardwood stands. My research is all in the Daniel Boone NF. I also work for a public lands advocacy organization, Kentucky Heartwood, where I spend a lot of time in the Boone and have been fortunate to find some really great spots with wonderful old trees. Incidentally, I found a shortleaf pine over 300 years old (it would make #3 on the eastern oldlist) in the middle of a timber sale we're working to stop. But that's another story.

Anyway, attached are a few photos from a really nice stand in the Daniel Boone NF in McCreary County I ended up in on Sunday. I'd add more photos but the upload is pretty slow. The area is just under cliffline and above the Cumberland River between Laurel Lake and the Rockcastle River. There were many very large trees there. The White oak pictured was 126cm dbh and I estimated 121ft tall with a clinometer. The Shagbark hickory was 77.5cm dbh. I was rushed when I took the height reading on that and so I'm not trusting my numbers. I got somewhere between 150 and 170 ft, but I really need to get back out there and try to get a better measurement. It was late. The Chestnut oak pictured was 108cm dbh.