Phillips Pass and Ski Lake, WY

Moderators: edfrank, dbhguru

dbhguru

Phillips Pass and Ski Lake, WY

Post by dbhguru » Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:02 pm

NTS,

Today Monnica and I left the Grand Teton NP, heading back to Pocatello. But before we left the Tetons completely, we wanted to sample the Phillips Pass trail on the western slopes of the Tetons. The western side is far less dramatic, but has its charms - and fine trees. In fact, I'm just beginning to open up to the possibilities. Here is a look at a very old Doug fir. Its girth is 13.1 feet. Its height is only 80 feet, but it has had crown breakage in the past.
Phillips-2.jpg
Later I came across a huge Doug fir that had died. Its girth is 14.9 feet. It is also short. I didn't take a picture of it. Some of the big Dougs exhibited an almost iridescent moss on their trunks. Here is an example.
Phillips-3.jpg
The trail crossed many meadows. Here is a look at a couple of the meadows.
Phillips-5.jpg
Phillips-8.jpg
One twisted trunk of a spruce (Englemann or Blue) caught my eye.
Phillips-11.jpg
Phillips-10.jpg
There were plenty of fine vistas.
Phillips-12.jpg
Our destination was a pond called Ski Lake. It lies at 8,650 feet. Here's a look.
Phillips-7.jpg
Now to trees. yes, i measure a lot. Here is the list of the more prominent.

Species Height Girth

CO Blue Spruce 112.0
CO Blue 127.0
Doug Fir 80.0 13.1
Doug Fir 113.0
Doug Fir 93.0 14.9
CO Blue 114.0 10.2
Englemann 113.0
CO Blue 118.5
CO Blue 120.0
CO Blue 114.5
CO Blue 122.0 8.5
CO Blue 123.0
CO Blue 123.5 8.8
CO Blue 130.5 9.1

I measured dozens of Englemanns, Blues, and Dougs to between 95 and 110 feet. There are many mountain valleys in this area which could have equal or better stands of timber. And nobody seems to realize these trees are all over the place. So chalk another one up for WNTS. When I return to Florence, MA, I'm going to build a spreadsheet that summarizes the Rocky Mtn measurements. But for now, I'll close with one last shot.
Phillips-14.jpg